Broome welcomes 14 new Rural Clinical School of WA students to town

A new cohort of Rural Clinical School of WA students have arrived in Broome, with the 14 doctors-to-be set to work at Broome Hospital and clinics around town over the coming year.

The 10 penultimate and four final-year students in Broome are joined by seven other students placed in the Kimberley, with three in Derby and four in Kununurra.

The RCSWA is a collaboration between the medical schools of The University of WA, The University of Notre Dame and Curtin University, and offers year-long rural placements for medical students in their last two years of study.

RCSWA director Dr Andrew Kirke said program participants had been encouraged to sign up after hearing the positive experiences of previous students.

“The program has been consistently popular, growing over the last five years with its expansion to Curtin University and the addition of the final year placements,” he said.

“Students were asking to go back again after having a great time living in the country and would talk to their mates about it who would then want to get on board as well.

“We show students all the great things about country life and medicine . . . from their point of view, it’s exciting work, they recognize it’s challenging in the country but that attracts them.”

About 50 per cent of RCSWA graduates complete some form of rural placement as doctors, and 25 per cent embark on long-term placements, of up to five years in rural locations.

Broome Rural Clinical School medical co-ordinator Dr Rachel Hall said the students were enjoying their time learning and lapping up the Broome sunshine.

“They are all very excited to be here and should have a great year ahead of them,” she said.

The students also have opportunities to continue working rurally after completing their studies with 25, year-long, rural intern placements offered through the WA Country Health Service each year.

Other country hospitals involved this year include Albany, Bunbury, Busselton, Collie, Esperance, Geraldton, Kalgoorlie, Karratha, Narrogin, Port Hedland and Warren Blackwood in Manjimup.


Albany: 12 penultimate students and six final-year students

Broome: 10 penultimate students and four final-year students

Bunbury: 12 penultimate students and six final-year students

Busselton: 10 penultimate students

Collie (new site for 2023): Four penultimate students

Derby: Three penultimate students

Esperance: Four penultimate students

Geraldton: 12 penultimate students and four final-year students

Kalgoorlie: 12 penultimate students

Karratha: Seven penultimate students

Kununurra: Four penultimate students

Narrogin: Four penultimate students

Port Hedland: Seven students

Warren Blackwood (Bridgetown): Six penultimate students


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *