Circle of Honor Class 2022 will be awarded on Monday Local news

Eighteen individuals, including Indiana State Health Commissioner, a former U.S. senator and Harvard-trained neuroanatomist, will be honored Monday as part of Vigo County School Corp.’s new Circle of Honor program.

The inaugural honor class in 2022 consists of 18 individuals “who embody the best of the Vigo district, reflecting its rich history and commitment to excellence,” the district said.

They will be honored during the program at Terre Haute North Vigo High School; participation in the event is by invitation.

The recognition event is attended not only by VCSC graduates, but also by staff, administration and community who have contributed to the district throughout its history. It is not a condition that they attend schools in the district of Vigo.

Among the winners is Dr. Kristina Box, Indiana Health Commissioner who graduated from Terre Haute North Vigo High School; the late Birch Bayh Jr., a former U.S. senator from Vigo County; and Jill Bolte Taylor, a best-selling author and neuroanatomist trained and published at Harvard.

Other awards:

• Robert (Bob) Fischer, math teacher at Honey Creek High School.

• James (Jim) Mann, former athletic director of West Vigo High School.

• Katherine Utley, a long-time educator at Terre Haute North Vigo High School, who served as head of the foreign languages ​​department.

• Bob Baesler, local trader and owner of Baesler’s Market.

• The late Iverson Bell, a veterinarian, head of civics, and a 20-year-old member of the Vigo County School Board.

• The late Carl Riddle, longtime director of Terre Haute North Vigo.

• Carolyn Roberts, an educator who worked as a counselor for 17 years at Terre Haute North Vigo High School and later for many years as a VCSC diversity consultant.

• The late Susie Dewey, a longtime VCSC educator and passionate environmentalist.

• Alan Hill, who achieved nationwide status in football and track at DePauw, played professional football for the Dallas Cowboys and later worked in higher education administration.

• The late Darrell Roundtree, principal of Hoosier Prairie Elementary School from 1979 until his retirement in 1998.

• Trannie Grainger, who retired from VCSC in 1996 after working as a physical education and health teacher at Woodrow Wilson Middle School for 26 years. She also trained.

• The late Don Smith, who for many years served as president, CEO and chairman of Terre Haute First National Bank and First Financial Corp.

• Coral Cochran, a 20-year-old VCSC teacher who also led the formation of what is now known as Wabash Valley Breast Cancer Survivors, Inc.

• Bobby Moore, Interim Executive Director of the Terre Haute Boys and Girls Club, who also served as its Chief Operating Officer.

• The late George Waugh, first principal of West Vigo High School, who worked there from 1960 to 1978.

Leave a Comment