Day – Montville announces the latest introductory class to the Athletic Hall of Fame

Montville High School will introduce the former coach, four student athletes and one team to its Athletic Hall of Fame on Friday, May 27 at Mohegan Sun’s Uncas Ballroom.

The start of the 2020 class was originally scheduled for 2021, but was postponed for a year due to COVID-19.

The introductory class includes Jesse Sutherland (football, basketball, baseball), Jessica Bennett (cross-country skiing, wrestling, track), Anthony Occhialini (football), John Szarzynski (football, basketball, baseball), Phil Orbe (baseball coach, teacher, athletics director) and the 2000 baseball team.

Tickets cost $ 65 and can be purchased by contacting Montville High School during normal school hours.

Jesse Sutherland (class 2010) helped Montville achieve the championship games in football and baseball this season. He was a three-year-old beginner in football and basketball, winning all of them
ECC and All-Area have been awarded twice in football as a wide receiving / defensive defender and have been a four-year shortstop starter in baseball, leading Montville to more ECC titles and an M-Class title, being named to many All-ECC and national teams. He later attended Manchester Community College, where he played in the NJCAA World Series.

Jessica Bennett (2009) was one of the most unique athletes in three sports in the school’s history, winning the All-ECC award in cross country and track, and as a senior she was declared the Montville MVP in the match when she became the second woman to place in a state class tournament (fifth in the S class with a weight of 103 pounds in 2008), then finished second in the M class as a senior, the highest ranking in any sportswoman and became the first woman to qualify for the State Open. It was also twice an academic national election.

Anthony Occhialini (2009) was a multi-sport athlete, but a four-year university football title as a goalkeeper, won the All-New England and All-American Senior Awards in 2008 and ended his career with a school record of 23 outages. and 402 saves. He continued to star in Central Connecticut, leading the Blue Devils to the Northeastern Conference title in 2011 and has since returned to become Montville’s current head coach.

John Szarzynski (1967) was an athlete with three sports stars, whose class was the first to spend all four years in Montville. He has won a maximum of 12 university letters in football, basketball and baseball. He was the All-ECC’s choice in football and baseball as a senior and batted over 0.300 in all four baseball seasons. Szarzynski enjoyed a 45-year professional career at Electric Boat, retiring in 2015, spending 10 years as a softball referee and 37 as a basketball official, 10 of whom acted as a rule interpreter.

Orbe (1988) returned to his alma mater and prospered for 24 years as a social science teacher, baseball coach and athletic director. Montville made 11 ECC titles, six ECC tournaments and six CIAC appearances, including the 2006, 2010 and 2011 State Championships. He selected five former players for the Major League Baseball draft and 57 of them played in college. . His 2006 and 2010 teams were voted No. 2 in recent polls and retired with a career record of 380-133 (0.741 percent wins).

The Montville baseball team won 22: 2 in 2000, won the ECC Small Division title, won the ECC tournament championship, finished third in the final state vote and surpassed its opponents 237: 91. Montville had a group of 11 seniors who won two ECC titles in the regular season, three ECC tournament titles, and finished second in the M class in 1998. USA Today Connecticut Player of the Year Jeremy Terni, the inaugural Hall of Fall player, was in the team. and the MLB draft pick, along with the All-ECC Van Hess pick (single-season records of 41 scored runs and 28 stolen bases in 28 trials), Matt Mauro (0.365, 32 scored runs), Matt Jullarine (0.350 and 20-plus RBI and run scores ) pitcher Khris Garcia, a national team that went 10-0 (school record in wins) with 67 strokes in 61 shifts.

Catchers Dan Velasquez and Ryan Casagranda, midfielder Mickey Dodge, helpful midfielder Alan Frausini and corner midfielders Aaron Meredith, Tom Cullen, Frank Longo and Mike DeCecco, were in the defense, and Jullarine, Eric Bushor, Nick Bianchi and Zach Kopp were also in the pitcher squad. .

Orbe’s coaches included Brent Southworth, Ted Richmond, Chris Pomroy and Gary Ballestrini, along with support staff James Murn and Kate Jurczikova.

Leave a Comment