DCU shock Limerick’s Mary Immaculate College in Fitzgibbon Cup

MARY IMMACULATE College’s hopes of reaching the knockout stages of the Fitzgibbon Cup hang in the balance following a 2-21 to 2-18 defeat to DCU Dochas Eireann at MIC Grounds.

The loss sees MIC needing to rely on DCU beating SETU Carlow by four or more points when they face off in the final group fixture next week.

The Limerick college never really hit full form but led by a goal heading into the final minutes. However, a long range free from DCU keeper Eddie Gibbons found its way to the next and the Dublin side held on for the win.

They took just 35 seconds to get the first goal of the game when a slick team move saw Richie Lawlor through on goal and he fired into the net for DCU.

Mary I recovered to level on 12 minutes in a half that was tight throughout. Devon Ryan the scorer in chief for Jamie Wall’s side.

Ryan took a chance five minutes from the break to shoot for goal from 25 metres, and his bravery came off with a stunning shot seeing Mary I one point up.

However, DCU continued to stay in the contest with Ross Banville leading the way and it was they that went in at the break leading 1-11 to 1-10.

The Dublin college continued to keep ahead in the first quarter of the second half until Declan McLaughlin’s stunning goal saw Mary I go in front on 46 minutes.

It looked at that stage that a win was on the cards but that free from Gibbons caught Mary I and DCU were victorious on a three-point winning margin.

Scorers – Mary Immaculate: Devon Ryan 1-9 (7 frees, 1 ’65), Declan McLaughlin 1-3, Diarmuid Cahill 0-3 Ronan Power, Colin O’Brien and Diarmuid Ryan 0-1 each.

Scorers – DCU: Ross Banville 0-8 (5 frees, 1 ’65), Richie Lawlor 1-1, Eddie Gibbons 1-0 (1-0 free), Jim Ryan and Darragh Power 0-2 each, Conor Hennessy, Niall. Murphy, Eoin Daly, Martin O’Connell, Brian Duignan, Rian Boran, Joe Barrett and Conor Kehoe 0-1 each.

MARY IMMACULATE: Jason Gillane (Patrickswell, Limerick); Johnny Ryan (Arravale Rovers, Tipperary), Keith Ryan (Upperchurch Drombane, Tipperary), PJ Fanning (Mount Sion, Waterford); Diarmuid Ryan (Cratloe, Clare), Diarmuid Looby (Latin Cullen, Tipperary), Ronan Power (Ballygunner, Waterford); Cian Wadding (Roanmore, Waterford), Carthach Daly (Lismore, Waterford); Diarmuid Cahill (Corofin, Clare), Cormac Power (Ballygunner, Waterford), James Devaney (Borris Ileigh, Tipperary); Devon Ryan (Cashel King Cormacs, Tipperary), Colin O’Brien (Liscarrol Churchtown Gaels, Cork), Declan McLaughlin (Portumna, Galway).

Substitutes: Caoimhin Marren (Kinvara, Galway) for Fanning (39 mins), Shane Punch (Ruan, Clare) for Daly (42 mins, inj) Cian Byrne (St. Mary’s Rosslare, Wexford) for C Power (48 mins), Aaron. Ryan (Upperchurch Drombane, Tipperary) for Cahill (63 mins).

DCU: Eddie Gibbons (Kilmacud Crokes, Dublin); Simon Lacey (Naas, Kildare), Niall Murphy (Ferns St Aidans, Wexford), Harry Walsh (Dunnamaggin, Kilkenny); Eoin Forbes (Craobh Chiarain, Dublin), Conor Murphy (Bennettsbridge, Kilkenny), Andrew Murphy (St Brigid’s, Dublin); Darragh Power (Fingallians, Dublin), Rian Boran (Naas, Kildare); Eoin Daly (Lough Lene Gaels, Westmeath), Ross Banville (Shelmaliers, Wexford), Martin O’Connell (Clara, Kilkenny); Richie Lawlor (Faythe Harriers), Conor Hennessy (Tullogher Rosbercon, Kilkenny), Jim Ryan (Rower Inistoige, Kilkenny).

Subs: Brian Duignan (Durrow, Offaly) for Forbes (39 mins), Padraig Moylan (Dicksboro, Kilkenny) for Daly (39 mins), Joe Barrett (St Martin’s, Wexford) for O’Connell (44 mins), Conor Kehoe ( St Mullins, Carlow) for Hennessy (53 mins).

REFEREE: Fergal Horgan (Tipperary).

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *