NK Hall of Fame will introduce a new class Sports

Eight individuals and a pair of golf and tennis teams will be inducted into the North Kingstown High School Athletics Hall of Fame on April 8. The launch will take place at Quonset O Clube starting at 6 p.m. Information on tickets can be obtained at the e-mail address nkathletichalloffame@gmail.com.

The winners are Taylor Bastien, Brandon Burns, Madison Damm, Joe Gilmartin, Chris Madoian, Ryan Morris, Dara Rittmann, Scott Teller, boys’ tennis teams from 2005 and 2006 and golf teams from 1975 and 1976.

Bastien, a member of the 2009 class, played football, basketball and lacrosse for Skippers. She was the team captain and won national selections in basketball and lacrosse. Bastien continued to play lacrosse at Bentley University and remained on campus as head coach of the Falcons women’s lacrosse team.

Burns was a star on the track and cross country as a member of the class in 2007. In 2006, he finished second in the state cross country match and led the Skippers to a team championship. He was also a multiple gold medalist on indoor and outdoor tracks. Burns continued in the United States Army.

In 2012, Damm was a Gatorade girls’ soccer player from Rhode Island and a double selection of all states for the Skippers. After graduating in 2013, she began playing Division I college football at Syracuse University and the University of Connecticut, performing twice at the NCAA Sweet Sixteen. Damm holds a degree in psychology from UConn and is currently working on a master’s degree.

Gilmartin was an athlete in North Kingstown before starting a coaching career on his alma mater. He helped out as an assistant in football, basketball and baseball before returning to the football field and bringing the Skippers to their greatest peaks in the history of the program. North won the 2017 Super Bowl Division II – his first ever Super Bowl title – and followed up with the DI Super Bowl Championships in 2018 and 2019. A teacher at Gilmartin High School in 2019 retired from training.

Madoain is the parent of several former captains and a longtime volunteer of the North Kingstown Booster Club and the city’s recreational programs. Madoian has coached and held senior roles in North Kingstown Jaguars and North Kingstown Recreation youth basketball. He has been a member of the Booster Club since 2009 and served as president from 2012 to 2017.

Morris was a football and baseball leader during the memorable era of Skipper Athletics, which included several locations in second place for the baseball team. A member of the 2009 class, Morris was the Gatorade Baseball Player of the Year and was the national team’s first team. He was also a national football team and a member of the Golden Dozen. Morris continued to play baseball at Presbyterian College.

Rittman was an outstanding golf player for the Skippers as a four-time girls’ state champion from 1993 to 1996. She received national awards each year and in 1994 won the New England Championship. Rittman continued to play golf at Rutgers University.

Teller also played on the golf course. He won the individual state championships in 1975 and was successful on the amateur scene, in 1974 he ended up as the second amateur state. In 1973, he was the youngest state amateur medalist. Teller won a golf scholarship to Duke University and has been competing for the Blue Devil for four years. Teller was also a national footballer. He now lives in North Kingstown, where he and his wife Bobbi Jo have raised a family.

The 1975 and 1976 golf teams won the first two state championships in the program’s history. The 1975 team with Mike Kennedy, Fran O’Keefe, Bill Blain, Jeff Teller, John Teller and Scott Teller and coached Drew Tucker finished 14-0-1 in the regular season and won the first golden crown of the school. A year later, the Skippers made it twice in a row, with Tucker leading the team of Steve Rogers, Ron Hickman, Dave Hickman, Fran O’Keefe, Jeff Teller and Tom Shannon.

In 2005 and 2006, the boys’ tennis teams won successive Division II championships with undefeated seasons. The 2005 team included Andrew Nadeau, Arun Verma, Steve Studley, Scott Andrews, Nick Mouradjian, Branden Abernathy, Steven Gianquitti, Steve Fritch, Pat Sullivan, Dan Moran, Colin Taggart, David Eaton and head coach Tim O’Neill. The 2006 team included Andrews, Studley, Taggart, Sullivan, Farid Topchiev, Derek Nonnenmacher, Kyle Pelland, Ryan Hartnett, Miles Verma, Will Marcley, Paul Sliker, Andy Chatham, Nick DelGreco and coach Lisa Vinacco.

Leave a Comment