Padma Awards 2023: List of science and engineering recipients named for civilian honors

The Indian Government has announced the list of Padma Award winners for the year 2023. The Padma Awards are one of the highest civilian honors of India announced annually on the eve of Republic Day. The Awards are given in three categories: Padma Vibhushan (for exceptional and distinguished service), Padma Bhushan (distinguished service of higher order) and Padma Shri (distinguished service). The award seeks to recognize achievements in all fields of activities or disciplines where an element of public service is involved.
The Padma Awards, which were instituted in the year 1954, are announced every year on the occasion of Republic Day except for brief interruption(s) during the years 1978 and 1979 and 1993 to 1997.
The list this year consists of 10 names from the field of science and engineering. Shir Srinivas Varadhan is awarded with the highest civilian honor Padma Vibhushan. Shri Deepak Dhar received Padma Bhushan, while eight people received Padma Shri in the field of science and engineering.
Padma Vibhushan
Shri Srinivas Varadhan – Science & Engineering- United States of America
Padma Bhushan
Shri Deepak Dhar – Science & Engineering – Maharashtra
Padma Shri
Shri Khadar Valli Dudekula – Science & Engineering – Karnataka
Shri Modadugu Vijay Gupta – Science & Engineering – Telangana
Shri Ganesh Nagappa Krishnarajanagara – Science & Engineering – Andhra Pradesh
Shri Arvind Kumar – Science & Engineering – Uttar Pradesh
Prof. (Dr.) Mahendra Pal – Science & Engineering – Gujarat
Shri Bakshi Ram – Science & Engineering – Haryana
Ms. Sujatha Ramdorai – Science & Engineering – Canada
Shri Abbareddy Nageswara Rao -Science & Engineering – Andhra Pradesh


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *