RIT announces Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2022

ROCHESTER, NY– RIT Executive Director of Athletics Jacqueline Nicholson announced the five newest individuals selected for induction into the RIT Sports Hall of Fame.

The Class of 2022 is comprised of Jared DeMichiel ’10 (Men’s Hockey), Quinn Donahoe ’09 (Mens’ Swimming & Diving), Josh Molinari ’04 (Men’s Lacrosse), Alysia Park ’05 (Women’s Hockey) and Ed Trefzger ’21 (Distinguished Service). Induction ceremonies will take place on Saturday, October 15, in Rochester NY at the Doubletree Inn.

Jared DeMichiel ’10 (Business Management)

A native of Avon, Conn., Jared DeMichiel backstopped one of the most memorable runs in men’s hockey history in 2010 as RIT stunned the college hockey world by advancing to the NCAA Division I Frozen Four. He was named the East Regional Most Outstanding Player after totaling 39 saves in the opening-round 2-1 upset of top-seeded Denver, and 24 saves in a 6-2 win over New Hampshire in the regional final.

DeMichiel ended the season with Division I-era program records of 920 saves and a 27-10-1 mark while compiling a .921 save percentage and a 2.09 goals against average.

DeMichiel finished his four-year career with 66 appearances, 1,588 saves, a .909 save percentage and a 2.48 goals-against average, all of which still rank among the top marks in program history.

Quinn Donahoe ’09 (Computer Science)
From Syracuse, NY, Quinn Donahoe had a stellar career with the RIT swimming & diving team. As a diver, he competed from 2004-08. During that time, he garnered six All-American honors. Donahoe’s plaudits started his freshman season as he placed eighth on the three-meter board at the NCAA Division III Championships. The following year he took seventh on the one-meter board. As a junior, he placed fifth in a three-meter competition. His senior year he placed seventh on the one-meter board.

As a senior, Donahoe received the Douglas McDevitt Award from the Upper New York State Collegiate Swimming Association for his outstanding achievements over four years. He was named Empire 8 and UNYSCSA Diver of the Meet all four years and was the Rochester Area Collegiate Athletics (RACA) Male Swimming and Diving Athlete of the Year in 2007. When he graduated, Donahoe held all RIT diving records.

Josh Molinari ’04 (Marketing)
Playing attack, Josh Molinari had an outstanding lacrosse career. The Oswego, NY native tallied 67 goals and added 167 assists (234 points) during his playing days, despite missing most of the 2003 season due to injury. A second team All-American in 2004, Molinari was the first player to score 100 points in a season (105 in 2004). His total also led the Tigers and set a school mark.

In 2002 and 2004, Josh led all of Division III in assists per game with 3.45 and 4.06 respectively.

He set school marks for most assists in a game (10), season (74) and career (167). Twice he was named Team MVP (2002 and 2004). The Tigers won the ECAC Championship in 2004. His freshman year the team advanced to the NCAA Quarterfinals.

Alysia Park ’05 (Professional and Technical Communications)
During her four seasons, Alysia Park helped guide the women’s hockey team to four appearances in the ECAC Playoffs, advancing to the finals in 2001-02. The Dallas, Texas native played when RIT was competing at the Division III level. During her career, RIT was 73-28-6. Along the way, she set school records for most career goals (79) and points (153). Her best seasons came in 2002-03 (48 points) and 2003-04 (47 points). She was named first team All-ECAC in 2003-04 and 2004-05.

Academically, Park was consistently on the Dean’s List and graduated with high honors. She was named to the ECAC All-Academic Team in 2002-03, and received the AWCHA National Scholar Athlete Award in 2004-05.

Ed Trefzger ’21 (Applied Arts and Sciences)
From station manager at WITR Radio to play-by-play personality, Ed Trefzger has been a part of RIT men’s hockey broadcasts since 1982-83. Along with other broadcast partners, those 40-plus seasons have all been on a voluntary basis. The year he started at the station (1982-83), RIT won the NCAA Division II Championship. The two games at UMass-Lowell were tape-delayed and marked the first away games carried by the station.

When Wayne Wilson was hired as men’s hockey head coach in 1999, Trefzger covered the press conference and later broadcast Wilson’s first game at the Fredonia Tournament. He was a part of the WITR team in 2000-01 when the Tigers posted a near-perfect season (27-1-1), finishing as national runner-up.

Trefzger estimates he has been part of more than 1,100 RIT hockey broadcasts. His longest streak of consecutive games broadcast is 154.

NOTES: The RIT Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2021 will also be inducted after last year’s ceremony was postponed due to the pandemic. The 2021 inductees include: Andy Demetres ’87 (Men’s Lacrosse), Michael Dempsey ’14 (Men’s Track & Field), Sandy (Southworth) Jackson ’84, ’87 (Women’s Soccer), Julie (Gibbs) Heuer ’94 (Women’s Volleyball), Todd Paulauskas ’94 (Men’s Basketball), Isabelle Richard ’04 (Women’s Hockey), Ronald S. Ricotta ’79 (Distinguished Service, Wrestling), Justin Smith ’12 (Baseball), Mike Tarantino ’00 (Men’s Hockey)and Shelby Vakiener ’14 (Women’s Lacrosse, Women’s Soccer, Women’s Basketball).

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.