Sonya Morris selected to the senior CLASS all-American team

CHICAGO – Sonya Morris ended her senior season and was named to her first All-American team.

The All-BIG EAST team’s first team was selected to join the All-American 2021-22 senior team on Thursday in a national vote by women’s basketball coaches, national media and fans.

Stanford’s Lexie Hull was honored as the Senior CLASS Award winner ahead of Friday’s Cardinal’s Final Four against Connecticut.

Abbreviation for Ccelebrate Lojalita a Apower for WITHto stay WITHchool® — The Senior CLASS Award targets all student athletes and encourages students to use their athletics platform to have a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

To be eligible for the award, a student athlete must be classified as a senior or graduate student in NCAA Division I and must have remarkable achievements in four areas of excellence: class, community, character, and competition.

Morris excelled in all four categories, helping to lead DePaul back to the NCAA, ranking among the top nations in the field.

The explosive shooter with a velvety soft touch shot an average of 17.6 points per game overall and 19.1 points per game in the game BIG EAST Conference.

She was recognized by the Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard of the Year Award as one of the top five shooting guards in the country.

Morris has the second and third matches with the highest DePaula score this season with 36 points against Vanderbilt on Paradise Jam (US Virgin Islands) and 35 points on St. John’s.

Sniper from St. Louis scored in double digits 29 out of 33 DePaula matches, including 17 out of the last 19. The 5-foot, 10-inch scoring touch protector that changes the game is a big reason why the Blue Demons lead the nation in a score of 87.3 points per game.

Morris has scored 20 or more points this season.

2021-22 All-American senior team
The first team

Lexie Hull, Stanford (Senior CLASS Award Winner)
Rhyne Howard, Kentucky
Ali Patberg, Indiana
Sam Thomas, Arizona
Macee Williams, IUPUI.

The second team
Elissa Cunane, North Carolina
Naz Hillmon, Michigan
Morgan Jones, Florida
Sonya MorrisDePaul
NaLyssa Smith, Baylor.

Leave a Comment