The North Allegheny Athletics Hall of Fame honors the 50th anniversary of Title IX

The author:

Saturday, April 16, 2022 | 10:01

State champion swimming Jacquelyn Du and record field hockey player Emily Humiston are among 11 individuals selected to be inducted into the North Allegheny Athletic Hall of Fame this year.

The class of 2022 includes seven female athletes, a fitting tribute to the 50th anniversary of Title IX, a 1972 law that banned gender discrimination in schools and opened the door for girls’ sports.

The class was announced on April 13.

“We are very, very proud of our women’s athletic teams,” said athletic director Bob Bozzuto. “We want to emphasize what we’re doing now and what we’ve been doing for years and years and years.”

Du, a 2015 graduate, won three WPIAL titles in swimming and was the state champion in the 100-yard mark last year before swimming at Yale. Humiston graduated in 2013 as the top scorer in North Allegheny field hockey history before playing in Providence.

This year’s class is complemented by Karin Hodgdon Girasek (1976, basketball / tennis), Ken Rock (1984, football), Greg Manesiotis Jr. (1990, baseball), Nikki Luisi (2005, football), Brittany Kelly (2006, rowing / gymnastics), Brian Austin (2009, track / football), Brooke Mancuso (2013, cross country / track), Danielle Wall (2014, volleyball) and Michael Buchert (football), who recently retired after more than 30 years as a tiger offensive coach.

Only seven of the women mentioned represent 10 sports.

Bozzuto said the selection committee was aware of Title IX anniversaries and wanted the class to celebrate this milestone for girls’ sports.

“All of these would be between this year and next,” Bozzuto said, so the commission sought to include more women this fall.

This is the 25th year for the hall. The class in 2022 will be honored with an introductory banquet on October 6 at 6pm in The Chadwick.

The Hall of Fame also awards four special awards each year. Among this year’s winners is Susan Ban, whom Bozzuto praised for her work as president of the rowing team, where she helped the program gain club status. Ban receives the Bob Miller Award as Outstanding Supporter of North Allegheny Athletics.

“Susan Ban was one of the best strengthening presidents and an individual who moved our rowing program to what it is today,” Bozzuto said. “It was amazing because their budget is bigger than football.”

John Conyette, who has been carefully maintaining the NA baseball and softball fields for years, will be awarded the Joseph Drazenovich Prize for Legendary Service.

Current hockey coach Mike Bagnato receives the Distinguished Coaching Award and land developer Gary Sippel, a supporter of the wrestling program, was selected for the Dr. Lawrence Bozzomo Award for Outstanding Career Achievement.

Chris Harlan is a writer for Tribune-Review Staff. You can contact Chris by email at or via Twitter .

Brands: Northern Allegheny

Leave a Comment