Two teams from West Fargo High School won Team of the Year Awards – InForum

WEST FARGO – When West Fargo public school officials named this year’s Classified and Principal Team member for 2022, they did not have to go far, as both recipients were at West Fargo High School.

Assistant Principal Rachel Bachmeier won the title of Member of the Administrative Team of the Year and Suzanne McTiber, a Special Education Specialist at West Fargo High School, won the title of Winner of the Year.

The two were honored during a surprise ceremony at West Fargo High School on Wednesday, March 30, where family, friends, students and county staff joined.

Maktibar began her career in the public schools of West Fargo in 1994 as a professional woman in an early childhood center. Shortly thereafter, she moved to a para-professional position at West Fargo High School, where she has since served as a para-professional at the Career Development Center and most recently in a special education program.

Katibar has been described by staff members as playing a “crucial role in the success of the high school emotional disorders program. It is very dedicated to the program and to the students.”

Earlier this week, the county announced that Bameyer would become the next principal of West Fargo High School. She will take up her post on July 1, with Jennifer Permestad stepping down from the post.

Rachel Bachmeier responds after her name was announced as the winner of the 2022-2023 Administrative Team Award at West Fargo High School on Wednesday, March 30, 2022.

David Samson / The Forum

Bechmeier began her career in education as a middle school language arts teacher at the Rosebud Native American Reserve in South Dakota from 2012-2015. She spent one year as a social studies teacher at McAuliffe International School in Denver, Colorado, before accepting a position as an English language teacher at West Fargo High School in 2016. Between 2018 and 2020, she was the Dean of Students at West. Fargo High School before accepting the position as one of the school’s principals in 2020.

Bachmeier holds a bachelor’s degree in history from Marietta College in Ohio and a master’s degree in educational administration from the University of South Dakota. She has also served as a leadership instructor at Philips Exeter Academy in New Hampshire for two years and is a 2012 Teach for America graduate.

As winners, Katibar and Mayer will receive a crystal apple, flowers, a gift from the county and school board, and a $ 500 check from the West Fargo Educational Foundation.

The two along with Harwood elementary special education teacher Amy Braddock, who is also team member of the year, will be honored at the county’s recognition party on Monday, May 23, at Heritage High School.

Leave a Comment