Yearout wins Idaho Class 1A DI state boys player of the year | Sports

BOISE – Lapwai’s Titus Yearout won another top award again.

Yearout, a senior, reiterated as the Idaho Statesman-sponsored Idaho Statesman boys’ basketball player of the year on Wednesday, chaired by coaches and sponsored by Idaho.

The 6-foot-2, 180-pound guard helped the Wildcats to a 27-0 record and their second Class 1A state title, Division I, averaged 15.5 points, 5.0 rebounds, 7.0 assists and 2.0 thefts. to the match, raising Lapwai to a 12th overall state championship.

“He’s as good off the court as he is on it. He is a modest young man who has worked hard on everything he has achieved, “said Lapwai coach Zachary Eastman, who was also named Coach of the Year in the classification.

A member of the University of Idaho has beaten 2,000 points in his career at the state tournament and will leave as the best high school scorer in history with 2,039 points.

“(He) has been the best player on the best team in the last two years. The ultimate winner who will do whatever it takes to win his team, “said Potlatch coach Ryan Ball.

Others who make the first team in the area are Lapwai sophomore Kase Wynott and senior Kross Taylor, along with senior Logos Will Casebolt.

Wynott, the second-year 6-5 wing, was the Wildcats’ top scorer this year with an average of 25.2 points. The two-time first team player also added 7.1 rebounds and 5.0 assists per game.

Taylor, a 6-3 senior wing, averaged 14 points and was the second team’s choice in the 2020-21 season. He added 4.0 rebounds per game.

Casebolt, the senior guard 6-4, led the Knights of Moscow with 18.4 points, 7.3 rebounds, 3.3 assists and 2.5 wins per game.

Lapwai’s AJ Ellenwood and Terrell Ellenwood-Jones, along with Zach Rambo of Prairie, were the second team’s choice.

On the girls’ side, four players from the area placed in the first team of the 1st Division Class 1A, including three from the Lapwai State Champion.

Grace Sobotta, Jordyn McCormack-Marks and Sayq’is Greene earned the award, as did Kristin Wemhoff of Prairie.

Sobotta, senior wing 5-7, achieved an average of 8.4 points, 5.1 rebounds, 3.8 assists and 3.5 gains.

The engine that led the Wildcats offensive was the second-year McCormack-Marks 5-10, and she wasn’t even defensive. She averaged 10.9 points, 4.9 rebounds, 3.2 assists and 4.3 games per game.

Greene, senior wing 5-8, dropped out at the end of the season in terms of scoring, but had a stable impact throughout the year. She averaged 12.5 points, 5.3 rebounds, 2.1 assists and 2.5 games per game.

Wemhoff, a 5-6 junior quarterback, led the Pirates into a qualifying championship match, where they were beaten by Lapwai. However, she was the undisputed leader of Prairie with an average of 13.2 points, 5.6 rebounds, 4.1 assists and 5.1 profits per game, and she also won the Whitepine League Division I Player of the Year award.

The coach of the year in the classification was Jordyn’s mother Ada Marks from Wild Cats. Lapwai won his three state tournament games by more than 40 points per trip.

Tara Schlader from Prairie was the choice of the second team.

Erin Morgan of Kendrick was the first team in Division 1A of Division II.

The 5-10 senior center helped lead the Tigers to victory in the state consolation match after winning the Whitepine League Division II title. She had an average of 14.1 points and 8.3 rebounds per trip.

Granden’s Camden Barger made it to the first team in Class 2A.

Barger, a senior 5-6 quarterback who is a re-selection of the first team, is a four-year-old starter who has won the Central Idaho Player of the Year award three times. An average of 14.8 points, 4.2 rebounds, 4.4 assists and 4.1 gains led the Bulldogs to third place.

Senior teammate Bailey Vanderwall was the choice of the second team.

Leave a Comment