Zach Driscoll Wins Senior Class Award; Jake Sanderson named the first team All-American – The Rink Live

GRAND FORKS – The pair of UND players earned big awards on Friday night.

Goalkeeper Zach Driscoll won the Senior Class Award, while defender Jake Sanderson was named the All-American First Team, despite playing only 23 of the 39 UND matches for three injuries and illness.

Driscoll is only the second UND winner to join Jordan Kawaguchi, who won the Senior Class Award a year ago.

The award, which is voted on by coaches, the media and fans, is given to a top senior student-athlete of university hockey.

To be eligible for the award, an Athlete Student must be classified as an NCAA Division-I Senior or Graduate Student and must have remarkable accomplishments in four areas: class, community, character, and competition.

“I am extremely humble and honored to have been elected this year’s Senior Award winner,” Driscoll said. “I can’t say enough good things about the time I was fortunate enough to spend at the University of North Dakota. I also learned how important it is to follow my own path. My career in college was an adventure that didn’t make sense to many on the outside, but in the end it was perfect for me. “

Driscoll began his career at St. Cloud State in 2016-17, then returned to junior hockey for a year. In 2018-19, he returned to college in Bemidji State and became a three-year-old star for the Beavers. Driscoll transferred to UND during his senior year of high school and finished second in the National Collegiate Hockey Conference goalkeeper of the year category, leading the Fighting Hawks to the NCHC title in the regular season.

“Zach has done a huge and very positive job on and off the ice last year,” said UND coach Brad Berry. “It really added to the North Dakota hockey tradition and culture.”

Driscoll signed an amateur trial contract with ECHL’s Toledo Walleye at the end of the UND season.

“Zach Driscoll represented each of his schools in an incredible class as a full-fledged student-athlete,” said Erik Miner, executive director of the Senior Class Award. “Every program has affected this program in many different areas so well – especially in North Dakota. During its final season. We are honored to congratulate Zach and North Dakota on winning this prestigious award.”

Sanderson named All-American

The year didn’t turn out the way Sanderson had imagined – he had after a failure with injuries – but during his 23 games he was good enough to win the All-American First Team Awards.

This is the third season in a row that UND has the first All-American team. Shane Pinto was named the first team last season and Jordan Kawaguchi was in the 2019-20 season.

Other selections of the first West team were strikers Nathan Smith of Minnesota State-Mankato, Bobby Brink of Denver and Matty Beniers of Michigan, defender Ronnie Attard of Western Michigan and goalkeeper Dryden McKay of Minnesota State-Mankato.

All-American First Team West

F – Nathan Smith, MSU-Mankato
F – Bobby Brink, Denver
F – Matty Beniers, Michigan
D – Jake Sanderson, North Dakota
D – Ronnie Attard, Western Michigan
G – Dryden McKay, MSU-Mankato

All-American second team West

F – Ben Meyers, Minnesota
F – Ethen Frank, Western Michigan
F – Brian Halonen, Michigan Tech
D – Owen Power, Michigan
D – Luke Hughes, Michigan
G – Ryan Fanti, Minnesota Duluth

The first UND All-Americans team

2022 – Jake Sanderson, D
2021 – Shane Pinto, F
2020 – Jordan Kawaguchi, F
2016 – Brock Boeser, F
2013 – Danny Kristo, F
2011 – Matt Frattin F; Chay Genoway, D
2008 – TJ Oshie, F
2007 – Ryan Duncan, F; Jonathan Toews, F
2004 – Zach Parise, F; Brandon Bochenski, F.
2001 – Jeff Panzer, F; Travis Roche, D
2000 – Jeff Panzer, F; Karl Goehring, G
1999 – Jason Blake, F; Brad Williamson, D
1998 – Curtis Murphy, D
1993 – Greg Johnson, F
1991 – Greg Johnson, F
1990 – Russ Parent, D
1988 – Steve Johnson, F
1987 – Tony Hrkac, F; Bob Joyce, F; Ian Kidd, D
1984 – Jon Casey, G.
1983 – James Patrick, D
1981 – Marc Chorney, D
1980 – Mark Taylor, F; Howard Walker, D
1979 – Kevin Maxwell, F; Bob Iwabuchi, G
1972 – Alan Hangsleben, D
1970 – John Marks, D
1969 – Bob Munro, F; John Marks, D
1968 – Bob Munro, F; Terry Abram, D
1967 – Jerry Lafond, D.
1966 – Terry Casey, F
1965 – Don Ross, D
1963 – Dave Merrifield, F; Al McLean, F; Don Ross, D
1960 – Reg Morelli, F
1959 – Bill Steenson, D
1958 – Bill Steenson, D
1957 – Bill Reichart, F; Bill Steenson, D
1956 – Bill Reichart, F
1955 – Bill Reichart, F
1954 – Ben Cherski, F; Spike Schultz, G
1953 – Ben Cherski, F
1951 – John Noah, D

Leave a Comment